Interviewing Nicolas Berry

BY: Güzay Özverir

Can you tell me a little bit about yourself?

– Hi!  My name is Nicolas Mouros. I’m 19 years old.

What are your views on climate change?

– Well, we need to take action and we need to tackle the system of capitalism that only sees as profit and not really care about human beings and well beings of people.

What motivated you start getting involved into the action?

-I started it because I felt like no one was really active and if not me who will do it, I can’t really complain about anything when I’m not taking action myself.

Who is your biggest influence?

-I was influenced by many teachers, lecturers and academic staff to act. Then Greta Thunberg was the one who actually made me understand that I need to go into streets

What do you hope to achieve as you grow older?

-By the time I am 50? I mean what I want achieve in the world would be working fairer system for all including environmentally and socially. I don’t know what’s affected but like having achievement myself is to stay this passionate until I’m 50.

What was your first impression of Medimun, considering you were a delegate just a year ago?

-When I first came to Medimun, I was very terrified by the idea of creating a resolution or afraid of being the annoying one. People will talk about the resolution, and people could sometimes be mean, but overall, it felt good; I learned to speak without feeling judged.

So, as a first impression; terrifying. Also excited knowing that I could go to Security Council given with Emily that is the president of the general assembly now. The first time I saw her, I remember I was like ‘I’m scared of you’, I was afraid of her that she will destroy me during debate, but turns out she is a sweetheart. Medimun; It is a really good opportunity for young people to get out there, get educated and get out of their comfort zone because that’s what we need to be out of comfort zone.

Thank you

Leave a comment